Sometimes We Step in Poop

April 2, 2016

 

Photo Credit: A Photographer

The best thing about being a substitute teacher is working with kids. Admittedly, there are times when this is also the worst part of my job, but it’s rare.

Many days I find I’m inspired by seeing students — often from different races and nationalities — being genuinely kind to one another. This supports my belief that people are inherently good. Other days I feel excited and happy when a child finally “gets it,” and I see their eyes light up and a gap-toothed smile stretch across their face. It’s proof that kids learn differently, but they all actually want to learn. Each and every day I am lucky enough to hear or see something that makes me laugh out loud — a reminder that we take life a little too seriously.

Yesterday was no different. I was subbing for a teacher who takes students out of their normal classrooms to be part of smaller group instruction. So I would go to various classrooms, retrieve the students, then walk them to the room where the smaller groups meet. I’ve subbed for this teacher several times, so the students know who I am, but I still try to help put them at ease by making a little small talk as we walk. 

It was mid-morning when I went to a first grade class and pulled out a girl I had previously worked with a few times. Walking down the hall, we were having a typical casual conversation when things turned serious.

“So how’s your day going so far?” I inquired.

“Well, not very good,” the girl replied very solemnly. 

“Oh no, what’s the matter?”

“Well, I think I got dog poop on my shoe,” she said as she lifted her foot and hopped along for a second.

Sure enough… I couldn’t help laughing, and then she started laughing, too.

Regardless of our age, we all have days when we step in poop. Life’s just like that. Rather than getting upset, I hope I will think of this story and take it in stride (yes, pun intended) the next time it happens to me. We all could be better at this.

12 Responses to “Sometimes We Step in Poop”

  1. amommasview Says:

    Oh yes! What a great post. Sometimes we all step in poop, but a good laugh about it definitely helps dealing with it 🙂


  2. […] Sincerity, Sarcasm, and Stuff Oh yes, sometimes we step in poop… […]


  3. Hee..Hee! At least she’s laughing and that’s a good thing. 😊


  4. Been there, stepped there! NIce post!


  5. Coming from the Master Pooptologist herself, I found your poop post so apropos. Life is a bit like that but a sense of humor sure goes a long way!
    Thanks for your reminder, too. :))


Leave a Reply

