My Leap of Faith, or How I Let My Need for Happiness Take Over

March 18, 2015

A week ago, after working for the same company for two months shy of 19 years, I quit.  This was an action that was about 18 years in the making, but I’m not one who is overly motivated or particularly fond of change…  I have a wife and two young children, a mortgage, various other debt, no college degree, and I walked away from a lucrative career and the only real job I have ever had.

It sounds insane, I know, but after so many years of trudging through mental anguish, I decided that the cliche about life being too short to hate what you’re doing is actually good advice.  I have lived with fear and anxiety my entire adult life, and decided I had to make a change.  So, with the support of my wonderful wife, I have left the business world and will be spending the next few months as a stay at home dad (or “house husband,” as my wife now refers to me). This is very scary, but it’s also a priceless opportunity to spend a summer with my four year old daughter and eleven year old son. The final summer before my daughter starts elementary school, and possibly the last summer that my son will consider allowing me to hang out with him.  We will be living frugally and making sacrifices, but fortunately my wife has a good job and we have decided we can make it work.  I have a background in construction, so I may work a few odd jobs to bring in some extra income as needed.  My construction experience is a blessing and a curse, as I have already been assigned a daunting honey do list, but I look forward to crossing tasks off.  Like an old ballplayer who still thinks he has it (or needs the money, as the case will be with me), I will come out of retirement once school starts.  Until then I will make the most of this experience.  I will do everything I can to be productive and genuinely happy.

I know there are tens of thousands of people out there who fantasize about quitting their job, so I have decided to blog about my experiences, and will try to post something at least a couple times a week.  I expect my time off to be very challenging, but also fun and rewarding.  I know a change like this would not be a fit for everyone, and I certainly don’t recommend making any kind of major life decision without careful evaluation and consideration – oh, and probably better planning than I have done.  Maybe my blog will be an eye-opener for someone considering a career change?  Maybe it will amuse someone occasionally?  Maybe no one will read it, but it will allow me to document what’s going on in my family’s life at this given time, which could be good for my kids to read later in life?

For today, I will leave you with a quote from Karen Lamb, who said “A year from now you will wish you had started today.”  I first saw this quote about six months ago, but have thought about it literally every day since.  Finally I decided it was my “today,” and I made my leap of faith.

Here’s to all of us finding that elusive thing called happiness.  Cheers.

7 Responses to “My Leap of Faith, or How I Let My Need for Happiness Take Over”

  1. facetfully Says:

    Wow! What a great thing to do! So many people wait until it is too late! You have a new follower who will be watching the journey!

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Enjoy the journey! Lookin forward to reading your blogs. 🙂

  3. Ruth Ann Abbate Says:

    Good for you! I’m so proud of you and Marni! What an exciting summer for the kids! Enjoy my friends! Love your family!


    • Very exciting. I can relate: my husband stayed at home with our son, and changed careers, too. We lived a minimalist life, though no one called it that yet. I didn’t even know anything about blogging at that time in my life. We have only one son and he’s now 11. I have recently started blogging (Nov 24th was my first post) – you are welcome to stop by. 🙂 We still live pretty frugally and are very happy. I look forward to checking in again.

  4. Bekki Hill Says:

    So many people talk about making big life changes and never make them. Well done for taking the plunge.


  5. You’ve undertaken a grand adventure into full-time life at home. As a seasoned and veteran housewife, I can tell you that having personal time for anything, including blogs, will be a challenge to guard. Nevertheless, you’ve made an engaging start with this blog, and I hope to be reading more funny, thoughtful, insightful and interesting perspectives about your experience in future blogs.

  6. nuvofelt Says:

    Grab the chance to enforce lasting relationships with your children. Wishing you all the success in the world – such a valuable contribution to their upbringing.


Leave a Reply

